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(VAC) Chapter citation(s)  

8VAC20-131-80; 

8VAC20-131-150 

VAC Chapter title(s) Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in 
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Action title Exempt action to align the Standards of Accreditation with Chapter 
552 of the 2020 Acts of the Assembly 

Final agency action date April 21, 2022 

Date this document prepared March 9, 2022 

 
Although a regulatory action may be exempt from executive branch review pursuant to § 2.2-4002 or § 2.2-4006 of 
the Code of Virginia, the agency is still encouraged to provide information to the public on the Regulatory Town Hall 

using this form. However, the agency may still be required to comply with the Virginia Register Act, Executive Order 
14 (as amended, July 16, 2018), the Regulations for Filing and Publishing Agency Regulations (1VAC7-10), and the 
Form and Style Requirements for the Virginia Register of Regulations and Virginia Administrative Code. 
 

 

Brief Summary 
[RIS1]  

 

Provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change (i.e., new 
regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the reader to 
all substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
              

 

Chapter 582 of the 2020 Acts of the Assembly (“Chapter 582”) amended § 22.1-79.1 to standardize the 
minimum instructional time requirement across grades K–12. Whereas kindergarten previously required a 
minimum of 540 hours of instructional time, Chapter 582 requires a minimum of 990 hours of instructional 
time. 
 
Chapter 582 included a delayed enactment clause such that the amendments would become effective on 
July 1, 2022, and further required that the Board of Education (“Board”) adopt regulations establishing 
standards for accreditation that include a requirement that the standard school day for students in 
kindergarten average at least 5.5 instructional hours in order to qualify for full accreditation. 
 
In order to comply with Chapter 582, the Board must make minor edits to 8VAC20-131-80 C and 
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8VAC20-131-150 A and B of the Standards of Accreditation in order to include kindergarten in the 
minimum requirement of 990 hours of instructional time.  
 
The Board has not exercised any discretion in making the required changes. 
 

[RIS2] 

Mandate and Impetus 
 

 

Identify the mandate for this regulatory change and any other impetus that specifically prompted its 
initiation (e.g., new or modified mandate, internal staff review, petition for rulemaking, periodic review, or 
board decision). “Mandate” is defined as “a directive from the General Assembly, the federal government, 
or a court that requires that a regulation be promulgated, amended, or repealed in whole or part.”  
              

 

This regulatory change is the result of a legislative mandate (Chapter 582). 
 
Chapter 582 amended § 22.1-79.1 to standardize the minimum instructional time requirement across 
grades K–12. According to Chapter 582, “[i]ndividual schools may propose, and local school boards may 
approve, pursuant to guidelines developed by the Board of Education, alternate school schedule plans 
providing for the operation of schools on a four-day weekly calendar, so long as a minimum of 990 hours 
of instructional time is provided for grades kindergarten through 12.” Whereas kindergarten previously 
required a minimum of 540 hours of instructional time, Chapter 582 requires a minimum of 990 hours of 
instructional time. 
 
Chapter 582 included a delayed enactment clause such that the amendments would become effective on 
July 1, 2022, and further required that the Board adopt regulations establishing standards for 
accreditation that include a requirement that the standard school day for students in kindergarten average 
at least 5.5 instructional hours in order to qualify for full accreditation. 
 

 

Statement of Final Agency Action 
 

 

Provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was taken; 2) 
the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
              

 

The Board approved this action to amend the Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public 
Schools in Virginia on April 21, 2022. 
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